Questions I Ask About Education in India

There are some questions one feels the need to ask about education in India.

1) Why was I never allowed to question the actions of Indian historical leaders? Why for instance do we automatically believe Shivaji was the epitome of righteousness and that the “controversial” passages in James Laine’s book are totally untrue?

2) Why was I never taught about comparatively recent events such as Operation Black Thunder, the Bombay riots, the 1984 riots, etc?

3) Why is it that the order of preference for most parents when guiding their child’s education is Science then Commerce and then Arts?

4) Why is it that parents convince their children that success is assured only if they study engineering or medicine or chartered accountancy or law?

5) Why is teaching not viewed as a great career? Why are most teachers industry rejects?

6) Why do I have to complete my undergraduate education in four years? Why is it not allowed if I take a break for 3 years and come back?

7) Why can I not change my major midway through my education? Why do I have to follow only a prescribed path to get my degree?

8) Why is sports not considered an important part of education?

9) Why are we learning things which are obsolete today?

10) Why are there such minimal opportunities for students to take part in foreign exchange programs?

11) Why are there dress codes in college? Why is there so much more emphasis on dress codes in “professional” courses?

12) Why do we need to be guided every step of the way? Why can’t we find our own way?

13) Who said 13 is an unlucky number?

6 Comments

Filed under India

6 responses to “Questions I Ask About Education in India

  1. randomabstractions

    Agrees at all points. This is what sums up to quite an extent something I’m wanting to write on. The concept of independent education. Not in the iconoclastic or rebellious sense – but a more constructed,rational and a quite desired approach.

    I wish you become a teacher. Only person I know who ‘wannts’ to be a teacher to ‘bring a change , at least work towards one’ and not for the cool life,easy bucks (really ? I was shocked) blah blah… I will come back to college for attending lectures pure dil se !!

  2. Haha. Problem is I don’t think research is my thing. So PhD is doubtful. Hence teaching is another question mark

  3. randomabstractions

    I think you can still work towards a reform with the conviction that you already possess. Make it happen da.

  4. Preeti

    These questions have come up in some of our conversations and I agree..

    and I agree with shraddha,teachers must want to teach, must want to learn and propogate that to students, they must have the passion to teach, which none of them seem to have.
    We need young teachers, who teach their students to question the system and in the process ,learn more..You’re an eligible candidate…Seriously, take the plunge 😀

  5. Ameya AB

    Hi Rohit,
    It is easier said than done.
    In the case of the 1st point, i hope the education process does not end up teaching a nicely fabricated work of sensationalism.

Leave a Reply

